General Information

State Firearms Laws

County and City Firearms Laws

Sheriff's Offices

Reciprocity

Knife Laws

Contact Us



Resources for Gun and Knife Owners

Join NRA Today

NRA Institute for Legislative Action

Nevada State Rifle and Pistol Association

Gun Owners of America

Second Amendment Foundation

U.S. Concealed Carry Association

Knife Rights

American Knife and Tool Institute


Nevada CCW Permits - General Information

Overview | Costs | Eligibility | Obtaining a Permit | Retired Law Enforcement

Overview
Nevada is a "Shall Issue" concealed carry state, which means that the authorities must issue a CCW permit to any applicant who is not disqualified for cause. Permits are valid for five years, and expire on the permit holder's birthday. To obtain a permit, applicants must complete classroom training and qualify with a weapon of the type they will be carrying (either semiauto pistol, revolver, or both). Nevada issues both resident and non-resident CCW permits.

Costs
The cost for a new CCW permit is $100.25 (as of October 2011), while to renew costs $60.25. A late renewal application will be assessed an additional $15.00 late fee. If you fail to renew within 120 days after your CCW permit expires, your renewal application will be treated as a new permit and fees will be charged accordingly.

Back to Top

Eligibility
Per NRS 202.3657, a person is not eligible to obtain a concealed firearms permit if any of the following apply:

  • They are not at least 21 years of age.
  • They do not provide the required documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm.
  • They are a fugitive from justice.
  • They have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
  • They have been admitted to a mental health facility.
  • They have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired.
  • They have been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use, of force or violence (including misdemeanors) within the last three years.
  • They have been convicted of a felony.
  • They have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or are currently subject to a restraining order or other order for protection against violence.
  • They are on parole or probation.
  • They have been, within the preceding five years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition of
    1. Withholding the entry of judgement for a conviction of a felony, or
    2. Suspension of their sentence for the conviction of a felony, or
    3. Indictment by a grand jury.
  • They have made a false statement on any application.
  • They were dishonorably discharged from the the Armed Forces.
  • They are not lawfully admitted into the United States.
  • They are prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law or county and city ordinances.
  • They are not a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien.

Back to Top

Obtaining a Permit
To obtain a CCW permit, you will have to apply through the sheriff's office for your county of residence. Clark County has no sheriff's office, and permits are issued by the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department. Non-Nevada residents may apply through any county sheriff's office.

You will need to complete a concealed firearms training class approved by the sheriff of your county of residence. You can contact your county sheriff's office for a list of approved instructors. If you're getting a new CCW permit, the training will last a minimum of eight hours, and will include both classroom instruction and range qualification with your firearm(s). The class for a CCW renewal is only four hours long. If you are applying for a Nevada nonresident CCW permit, you may have to complete your training class in the same county in which you are applying. Check with that county's sheriff to find out if that is the case, or if any concealed firearms class taught in Nevada will work.

As of October 1, 2013, pursuant to SB 76, Nevada law does not require you to qualify with every firearm you intend to carry; you need only qualify with any handgun, revolver or semiautomatic. You may then carry any handgun you own.

If you have an existing CCW permit which lists specific firearms you are authorized to carry, under the new law you may carry any handgun, regardless of the verbiage on your existing permit.

Once your training is complete, you will need to submit your application to the issuing agency along with a set of fingerprint cards, a photo, and the necessary fees. The agency will then conduct a background check prior to sending your permit to you by mail. It can take up to 120 days to receive your concealed firearms permit once you have submitted your paperwork.

Back to Top

Retired Law Enforcement
Retired law enforcement officers are permitted to carry a concealed firearm under the provisions of HR 218, the Law Enforcement Safety Act of 2004. The Nevada Department of Public Safety has more information on their website about who is eligible and what you must do to qualify.

Back to Top